How long could you survive? How long could you live off what is already stored in your home?

In this time of economic uncertainty it only makes sense to do whatever you can now, while you have the means to do so, rather than waiting until it's too late. I'm not going to go into get up on my soapbox for too long, I'm just going to leave y'all with this question... Are you prepared?

I am not prepared, there are many items that need purchasing and many little details that need sorting out. I need to write my will and ask certain people to act as my son's guardian. I need to begin saving an emergency fund while still paying down my last remaining debt as quickly as possible. I need to also begin to stock non-food essentials ASAP.... diapers anyone?
My Federal tax refund was deposited into my checking account this morning, so I hurried to pay off my last 2 unsecured debts.

I had a very disappointing conversation with a Chase Mastercard Customer Service rep, I just jumped online and paid my current balance since she refused to give me a Pay-in-full quote that would take into account the finance charges that accrue daily so I assume I'll have to call back in 2 weeks to have the residual finance charges waived.

Discover card was great though, the rep was kind and personable. She got all of my concerns handled in a quick manner and gave me the exact amount required to pay off in full without residual finance charges. That's the kind of service that will keep me coming back to Discover card.


But despite the disappointment I experienced with Chase today is a great day, I'm debt free at last!
From Luke's birth 13 months ago..
Awww, I miss my wittle-bitty boy.




Grandpa with his Lukey.








I paid off 2 of my 4 unsecured debts, my Signature loan and my Credit card both through my credit union, leaving me with just 2 more debts to pay with my tax refund. I am so happy, I will have fewer bills to pay,less stress, and more disposable income each month. CreditKarma.com predicts that my FICO score will jump up 50 points to 700 when they're all paid, which means that next time I need to take out credit I will get a better rate and much less hassle.

By having fewer monthly expenses the idea of Luke and I getting our own place is starting to become a reality. I am going to use some of the left-over refund, after I buy clothes, to buy household items. I'm so very excited.
I have been thinking seriously for a while about moving out of my mother's home. It's not a bad situation that we have to get out of it's just time for Luke and I to be independent. I feel like I'm in a place where I can handle truly being a single mother without the constant help of my mother. With this years refund I will be financially able to move out because I won't have quite so many monthly expenses, but I don't have all the housewares I would need. So, I think I'm going to try to buy the necessities little by little this year and maybe at the end of the year or beginning of next Luke and I will be ready to move out. I figure that I should also save up an e-fund prior to the move so that a suprise expense doesn't mean we gotta move, ya know?
So I received an Email today saying that I needed to go down to Human resources and pick up a "manual check" and I've been racking my brain ever since trying to think of what it could possibly be for? I know that I haven't been underpaid, if anything overpaid, and I don't qualify for any reimbursements from DFSI.

So what could it be?

* Underpaid in previous paycheck? It's unlikely but still possible
* Deducted too much for health insurance premiums? I did get a $120 credit for the premiums this year from DFSI in a drawing.

Well that's really all I can think it could be, I guess I'll just have to wait until Monday morning at 8:30 am to find out for sure.
Thank goodness my CPA double checks her figures before submitting my taxes.. She found another deduction that boosted my overall refund from $4300 to $5000! YAY!
My life is really starting to fall together. In just a few short weeks I will be debt free, I'm just waiting on my CPA to check her figures before submitting my tax return, and I will have a GOOD credit score of about 700 or so.

I feel like everything is starting to go my way finally. I'm doing well at work, I have a good job that provides awesome benefits, I am almost out of debt and most importantly I am finally enjoying motherhood. I feel horrible admitting I didn't enjoy being a mom for much of the past year, I felt more like a chaffeur than a mom and I never got to have quality time with my son. I'm finally working a schedule that allows me that quality time with my son and I gotta say this kid is a blast!


G'night!