So I just heard back from my CPA, my tax refund both State and Federal comes to about $4300!! That is far more than I had anticipated and will actually pay off all of my unsecured debts, leaving only my car loan to pay on, and also give me a bit extra to buy the new clothing I so desperately need.

I'll break it down a little for ya...
he
Signature loan: $150
Credit Card A: $300
Credit Card B: $1300
Credit Card C: $2000

Total: $3750

According to my math that leaves just about $550 after all my bills are paid to go out and buy some clothing.
I know that seems very silly, I pay off all of my unsecured debt and then go buy clothing?? But, ohh if you could only see me, I am so ashamed of the way I look when I go to work. I see all these girls my age all dolled up and looking great, nevermind that it's only 6 am and the sun isn't even up! Then there's me.. I look like total white trash, not because I don't try but rather that my clothing was poorly-made and is now ragged looking that it tends to overshadow everything else about me, in fact when I try to doll myself up with a little makeup here and there I think I actually look worse because I look like somebody who's trying too hard.

More later, gotta sleep
I ran across a post on Mothering dot Commune suggesting a No Spend Year, I love the idea! However, I am not in a position to commit to the plan this year, there are many items that I urgently need to replace as I fell into the trap of buying cheaply-made items because they cost less, however that poor quality just ensures that I'll have to replace that item much sooner than I would have otherwise. So this year I am working on replacing all my poor quality items with high-quality items that I am sure will last longer, even if it does cost more up front.

Also, Luke is just growing so dang fast that I am having trouble getting clothes that fit him before he goes up another size! I am hoping to take advantage of end-of-season sales this year to get Luke's clothing for next year all stocked up.

I hope to make 2010 my No Spend Year!

Here are the rules I currently have decided upon for No Spend 2010.

What doesn’t count.
Food
Medical expenses( co-pays , prescriptions, etc. as necessary).
Regular car maintenance
Socks, undergarments, and shoes as necessary.
Current bills, I will meet the obligations I currently have but will not take on anymore.

* I know that there will be things, or situations, that do not fall into one of the above categories that would still be considered essential/necessary… I leave this as the placeholder for those unforeseen items*

I will not buy anything for Myself and my son that doesn’t fall into one of the above categories, unless essential/necessary and even then will strive to get them free or used before buying new.
The ultimate goal of my No Spend 2010 is to save enough for a down payment on a home or condo.

Ideas for saving more:
Visit the library
Take advantage of Free-days at Zoos, Museums, and the like.
Ask for Gift cards for Birthdays and Holidays, I have no qualms about spending someone else’s money.
Live off our Year’s Supply.


Visit my new blog, No Spend 2010, to follow as I gear up and embark on the no spend year challenge.
I have wanted to have an unassisted childbirth long before Luke was even conceived and even more so now that I've had a child. Luke's birth wasn't a bad experience by any means, I don't have anything negative to say about the hospital or the doctors.

I simply didn't like the fact that I was dependant on the goodwill of others for such basic things like getting my baby back from the nursery and leaving the hospital..Just ask my mom about that second one.

I beleive that birth is an intimate event, just as the conception was. I want to be in my home, where I am free to labor and birth as I wish, without having to explain myself to anyone or ask permission. I don't want to bundle up my child and drive home in the mid-day traffic 3 days post-partum.. I want to be home in the comfort and quiet of my own home from the start.

I also hope to UP, as I felt that all the visits were pretty much useless. I never heard back about a single one of the dozens of tests that were administered. I beleive that a healthy lifestyle and good ol' fashioned intuition is the best way to grow a healthy baby.

I am not anti-doctor, most of my family is in the medical professional. I simply don't beleive in handing over my pregnancy and well-being to the care of another, I beleive in being involved and making decisions for myself.

Luke Charles Kincaid
was born Wednesday January 16, 2008 at 5:53 am
Weighing 7lbs 7oz and measuring 19 inches long





I had an OB appointment on January 14th, where Dr. Lamb preformed and internal exam and informed me that I was 1.5 centimeters dialated and was having contractions, I didn't feel anything! I left the appointment excited but knew it could still be days or even a couple more weeks before "baby boy" arrived.

I went home and packed my hospital bag and finally called the hospital to pre-register, thinking/hoping that it would happen soon. It didn't.... nothing happened all day!




Later that evening I noticed a small amount of bloody show which is a sign that the cervix is beginning to dialate. I called into work and let them know I wouldn't be there tomorrow. Nothing more happened, but I just couldn't sleep at all that night.




I really don't remember what I did the next day (Jan. 15) until about 6pm when my mom left for work at St. Marks Hospital, where she is a Clinical Coordinator, which is just fancy speak for head RN. Shortly after my mom left for work I had 1 hard, double-over-in-pain contraction and my water broke. I had secretly been desiring an unassisted childbirth (UC) so I hopped in to the tub hoping that would ease the pain...it didn't.


Oddly enough, I don't recall having distinct contractions but rather just one long painful ache that never subsided.




I decided that I couldn't do it and called my mom at work to come get me and drive me up to the hospital where she works, around maybe 7:30pm? Mom came home and got me about 8pm and we made it back to St. Marks around 8:30. My older sister, Sarah was already there waiting for me.. camera in hand. I went and checked in and spoke with the Charge nurse.




CN: So was it one big gush or is it a slow drip?

Me: a Gush.


CN: I don't think your waters have broken, but we'll check ya anyways.




I went into the room they indicated and changed into my paper gown. A few minutes later a very nice young nurse came in and did an internal exam with what seemed to be litmus paper to see if my waters had broken. She kinda smiled and said your about 4 cms and your waters have broken.. looks like your having a baby.




I was admitted.



I turned on the TV to CNN where they were disecting the primary election poll results. At some point Dad and Barbara also showed up and they all started talking shop, as everyone in my family except me is in the medical profession.



At somepoint I asked for an epidural and was informed I would need to have IV fluids first, but she could give me a shot of narcotic pain releiver in the meantime. That stuff is awesome.

Shortly after I received that wonderful, amazing injection, the Nursing Supervisor of the entire hospital walked into my LDR room, checking up on my mom to see if she really left work for the reason she said, at somepoint I finally asked who she was in a tone that made it quite clear I wanted her to leave.


The rest is a blur. I remember that around 5 am the nurse checked and said that I was complete. Sarah, Barb, and mom all coached my practice-pushing as the nurse kinda chuckled and sat there, since they were pretty much doing her job. Around 5:30 am the Doctor on call, Dr. Susan Horvath came in and the room transformed from a comforting bedroom like environ to an almost operating room-like setting.


I pushed and pushed until the doctor said the baby's head was pretty big and asked for permission to do an episiotomy, I don't recall what I said but I remember thnking, " I don't care, do whatever you want." She did the incision and Luke was born.


I didn't feel that immediate overwhelming love that we all hear about. I thought he was adorable and I was glad he had hair but I didn't realize I loved him until he was a few days old, about the time we left the hospital.


Luke didn't have a name until we were about to leave the hospital. I chose Luke for it's meaning "bringer of light", I didn't really love the name but it was all I could think of and now Luke is totally a "Luke".. it just fits him.


If anyone was wondering...

The title of my blog ,"For this I'll defend" is the Kincaid Clan motto.. The clan crest is a hand holding a sword in front of a 3-turreted castle, surrounded by a belt of-sorts... Which to me means, my home and family that is what is important,what I'll protect, what I will fight for.


For me family is everything, and my family motto just represents that so beautifully.

Luke is now 1 year and 1 week old, he started going to "daycare" 3 days per week at the beginning of this month. Daycare isn't really daycare as he is the only child currently there. The sitter is a friend's mother who is trying to start up a home daycare. I started sending Luke to the sitter's as I wanted to start working day shifts, so that both he and I could get on a better schedule and have more quality together time.

When I worked nights I would wake up around 8 am to get ready to go to work, leave about 10 am to get to work on-time for my 11 am shift.. work,work,work.. then get out of work at 8 pm, pick up Luke at my fathers around 8:30 pm, drive home, get home and crash about 9 pm.. only to get up the next day and do it all over again. My whole day revolved around work and all Luke and I ever did together was sleep. I just couldn't do it anymore, I felt like Luke was my parents child and I was just the chauffeur shuttling him between their homes.

So far working days has been great. I wake up around 4:30 am to get ready then Luke and I leave around 5 am or so for the sitter's house, I drop him off about 5:30 am and get to work just before my shift starts at 6am. I get off work at 2pm and get Luke from the sitter's. Luke and I play and play until about 5:3o pm when he gets grumpy, I feed him dinner and give him a bath before he and I both go down around 6:30-7pm.

I finally feel like his mother, I'm the one setting his schedule, I'm the one who sees his first steps, I finally know more about my son than my mother does!

Luke can now take 3 or 4 unassisted steps, before realizing what he's doing and promptly falling down. He can also say "Dog" and "Don't Touch!".... these aren't clear distinct words that everyone would recognize,but I do. Luke currently beleives that a computer is called a "Don't Touch!' as I say that everytime he even gets near my laptop, sad but true.

Luke and I haven't heard from his father since Luke was about 4 months old, it doesn't bother me as much as it used to except every once in a while when I look at Luke and realize he is the spitting image of Chance. I can only hope that one day when Luke wants to know who his father is that Chance will agree to meet with him. I cannot be bitter about this anymore, it doesn't do anyone any good.. it certainly doesn't help Luke in anyway.

I wish Chance all the best, truly.


I thought since I post so often about my debt maybe I should post exactly what that debt is, so here goes...

Signature Loan $275
Credit Card A $315
Credit Card B $1300
Credit Card C $2000
Car Loan $9500

*I rounded all the figures up to an easier-for-me-to-add amount*

I'm not drowning in debt, by any means, I simple cannot stand the stress of making sure that I make the payment on time, that I have the funds available when they go to pull from my checking account, etc.

I look at my credit card statements and wonder what on earth I spent all that money on, I have nothing to show for it..except for the credit card statements!
I maybe the only human being in America who absolutely loves tax season, it fills me with so much hope.
You see, although I work very hard I don't make much money, I literally live paycheck to paycheck... Yikes! However, that is my fault because I took on a lot of unnecessary debt, so this year my resolution is to be debt free, except for my car loan, by January 2009.
Where does tax season figure into all this you may be asking?
Well as I said, I don't make much money.. less than 20k per year...and I also have a child which means I will receive the Earned Income Tax Credit this year! I am expecting a refund of about $3000 for the tax year 2008, enough to pay off almost all of my debt!
I will use my entire tax refund to pay off my debts and what isn't covered by the refund will *fingers crossed* be paid off by June, which theoretically means I could go to working only part-time and be financially just fine. I would love to be at home with Luke more and *maybe* start taking some college courses.