I have wanted to have an unassisted childbirth long before Luke was even conceived and even more so now that I've had a child. Luke's birth wasn't a bad experience by any means, I don't have anything negative to say about the hospital or the doctors.
I simply didn't like the fact that I was dependant on the goodwill of others for such basic things like getting my baby back from the nursery and leaving the hospital..Just ask my mom about that second one.
I beleive that birth is an intimate event, just as the conception was. I want to be in my home, where I am free to labor and birth as I wish, without having to explain myself to anyone or ask permission. I don't want to bundle up my child and drive home in the mid-day traffic 3 days post-partum.. I want to be home in the comfort and quiet of my own home from the start.
I also hope to UP, as I felt that all the visits were pretty much useless. I never heard back about a single one of the dozens of tests that were administered. I beleive that a healthy lifestyle and good ol' fashioned intuition is the best way to grow a healthy baby.
I am not anti-doctor, most of my family is in the medical professional. I simply don't beleive in handing over my pregnancy and well-being to the care of another, I beleive in being involved and making decisions for myself.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 comments:
Post a Comment